Barbara Bowers, Chair
Individual Member
Professor Emerita
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Penny Cook, Vice Chair
Organization Member
Executive Director
Pioneer Network

Lisa Thomson, Treasurer
Supporting Member
Chief Strategy and Marketing Officer
Pathway Health Services

Patrick Luib, Secretary
Organization Member
Gerontological Advance Practice Nurses Association

Chris Laxton, Immediate Past Chair
Organization Member
Executive Director
AMDA The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine

Jay Sackman, Board Member Emeritus
Individual Member
Jay M Sackman Consulting Services LLC


CC Andrews
Individual Member

Maggie Calkins
Individual Member

David Gifford
Organization Member
American Health Care Association (AHCA)

Peter Illig
Organization Member
National Certification Council for Activity Professionals

Bob Lane
Organization Member
American College of Health Care Administrators

Tracey Moorhead
Organization Member
American Association of Post-Acute Care Nursing

Cynthia Morton
Organizational Member
National Association for the Support of Long Term Care (NASL)

Lori Porter
Organization Member
National Assn of Health Care Assistants

Theresa Schmidt
Individual Member

Alison Teitelbaum
Organization Member
American Health Quality Association

Victoria Walker
Individual Member

Audrey Wathen
Individual Member

Shennoy Wellington-Robers
Individual Member

Faith Wiggins
Organization Member
1199SEIU Training and Employment Funds


In addition to its diverse membership, Advancing Excellence has a legacy of active and engaged leadership. Board chairs have included:

2006 – 2009
Larry Minnix, former President & CEO, LeadingAge

2009 – 2012
Mary Jane Koren, MD, MPH, former Vice President of Delivery System Reform, The Commonwealth Fund

2012 – 2014
David Gifford, Senior Vice President, Quality & Regulatory Affairs, American Health Care Association
Cheryl Phillips, Senior Vice President, Public Policy & Advocacy, LeadingAge

2014 – 2016
Beverley Laubert, Ohio State LTC Ombudsman; past-president, National Association of State LTC Ombudsman Programs

2016 – 2018
Jay Sackman, Representative, The New Jewish Home

2018 – 2021
Chris Laxton, Representative, AMDA – The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine

2021 – present
Barbara Bowers, Professor Emeritus, University of Wisconsin–Madison School of Nursing